Get Your Kid’s Car Seat Checked By El Paso Fire Department
If you have a kid then you know one of the most important pieces of equipment you can buy is a car seat. But do you know if your car seat is the best one for your child at their age? Is it installed properly? And did you know that if you don't have a child in a car seat you could be looking at a ticket of about $250?
Almost 60 percent of car seats are not installed correctly and the results could be deadly. Texas law requires all children under 8 years old – unless they are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches – to be in a car seat whenever they ride in a passenger vehicle. All kids under age 13 should ride properly secured in a seat belt or safety seat in the back seat.
The National Child Passenger Safety Board’s Child Passenger Safety Week is this week and the El Paso Fire Department is hosting a car seat inspection event on September 19th at the EPFD’s Safety, Health and Outreach Center.
You'll be able to get your child's car seat checked out on a first come, first served basis.
You will need to:
• Be a Texas resident
• Bring your own car seat(s)
• Bring the child for proper fitting and instruction
• Be the parent or legal guardian of the child
WHAT: Car Seat Inspection Event
WHEN: Thursday, September 19, 2018 – 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
WHERE: EPFD Safety, Health and Outreach Center – 5415 Trowbridge Dr.