ABC-7 reports District 3 City Rep. Emma Acosta has confirmed to El Paso Inc. she will run for mayor of El Paso in 2017.

Although she has not made it official, Acosta is the seventh person to announce their intention to replace Mayor Oscar Leeser.

Per El Paso Inc., Dee Margo, David Saucedo, Charles Stapler, Willie Cager, Jorge Artalejo and Ana Romero Zaidle have declared their candidacy, although only Saucedo, Artalejo, Margo, and Zaidle have officially filed paperwork appointing a campaign treasurer.

Mayor Leeser said back in July he would not be running for re-election. Leeser announced his decision to not seek a second term during a budget meeting, saying he had accomplished what he set out to do.

The two-term District 3 Rep is in her eighth year on City Council. Term limits prevent Acosta from running again.

Jaime Barceleau and Cassandra Hernandez-Brown are so far the only ones who have filed forms with the city seeking to represent District 3.

The city election is May 13, 2017.