Contact Us

Facebook Accidentally Publishes Old Private Messages to Your Timeline – How to Fix It

A recent Facebook glitch has left private Facebook messages posted to your timeline.

Messages sent from 2007 to 2009 might have  been posted to your timeline. If so, here’s how you can temporarily fix it until Facebook finds a permanent solution.

Step 1: Under the drop down arrow on the top right side of your Facebook page, select “Privacy settings.”


Step 2: Once in your privacy settings, click “edit settings” under “Timeline and Tagging.”


 Step 3: Change the settings for “Who can see what others post on your timeline” to “custom.”


 Step 4: Then select “only me” as the option and uncheck any boxes under the drop down bar. Click “save changes.”


Step 5:  Repeat the same process for the option of “Who can see posts you’ve been tagging in on your timeline.”


Step 6: Once you’ve changed and saved the settings, click “done.”

View your page as a stranger and as a friend using these steps:

Step 1: Go to your profile page on Facebook.

Step 2: Click the small cog on the right side of the page next to your activity log under your cover photo.


 Step 3:  Use the “view as” option to view your page as any one of your friends. Make sure the posts from 2007-2009 do not include your private messages by using the small, blue years located on the right side of the page, just under the Facebook ads.


Step 4:   Repeat that process by viewing “as public” to make sure people who aren’t your friend can’t see your wall either.


That’s it. After you’ve completed these steps, your page should be free of private messages viewable by friends and strangers. Hopefully Facebook will have a solution soon.

Best of 93.1 KISS FM

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.