We are so sorry & embarrassed to share that we have issued a voluntary recall of boxes of original and Honey Nut...

Posted by Cheerios on Monday, October 5, 2015

Original, Honey Nut, Apple Cinnamon, Frosted, and Multi-Grain Cheerios all went gluten-free earlier this year, but General Mills announced a recall of 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made with wheat flour, and therefore, not gluten free. Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios are not affected by the recall.

The recall happened after reports of people who are gluten sensitive getting sick from eating the affected cereals. Gluten can cause foggy headedness, abdominal pain, bloating, and diarrhea if foods with gluten are eaten by people with gluten sensitivity.

The recalled Cheerios boxes have these “Better If Used By” code dates on the packaging:

HONEY NUT CHEERIOS
12JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD
18JUL2016LD
20JUL2016LD
21JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD
23JUL2016LD
24JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD

YELLOW BOX CHEERIOS
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD