There Are Some New Rules of the Road for Texas Motorists
Subscribe to 93.1 KISS FM on
The rules of the road here in Texas are constantly changing. In fact, on Sunday, there were somewhere around 700 bills that most people have never heard of that finally became laws that a lot of people will not be familiar with – that is, until they get a ticket for breaking them.
So in an effort to help out our fellow man, here are some of the laws that went into effect over the weekend that you should be aware of.
- Drivers will now need to slow down and move over when approaching a TxDOT vehicle with flashing lights. Essentially, motorists must do for them the same as they do for police and other emergency vehicles. Drivers that fail to do so can be fined as much as $2,000.
- Texas motorists must now display a front and back license plate – fines up to $200 for noncompliance.
- Fines for those people that feel the need to pass stopped school busses have gone up – minimum $500 – maximum $1,250.
- Motorists can no longer use cell phones on a school campus – not anywhere a person can drive. Emergency calls are the only exception.
To read a complete list of new Texas laws, click here.